Board Game Tournament 2.0

image

Tonight, we are playing Pandemic.

When I was a kid, I loved playing Candyland and Sorry. Uno was pretty cool, as was Battleship. 

Now that I’m an adult, board games have taken over as one of my favorite pastimes.  I love playing strategy games: Dominion, Ticket to Ride, Settlers of Cataan, and Pandemic.  Luckily, I also have a group of friends who like playing these games.  We get together, eat snacks, and laugh. 

It makes me think of my grandparents playing cards. They had nicknames for each other.  Bud and Mickey were my grandparents’ monikers and I remember my grandma telling me about the good times they used to have.

Those were the good old days.

And that makes me think that if I’m not careful and I don’t pay attention, my good old days just might pass me by.  It’s easy to get caught up in the tempo of a life moving at warp speed.  Jobs and kids and appointments and meetings.  It seems like I’m always rushing to the next thing.

But, as I sit here tonight playing a board game with my friends, I need to take the time to appreciate it. 

Because, really, these ARE my good old days.

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Board Game Tournament 2.0

  1. So, when you’re playing Pandemic, have you noticed that it’s harder, the more players that are playing? If you play with the expansion set and have 5 people playing, it becomes VERY difficult and you must do a lot of collaboration!

  2. Pingback: Pandemic: It gets easier the fewer players you have. | Dog's Breakfast

Leave a Reply

