If Only They Were All One Day Work Weeks…

My house has never been so clean. Seriously. The laundry’s done, the closets are organized, and the baseboards are shining. I’ve baked two loaves of banana bread, a loaf of oatmeal raisin bread, and I even made pizza dough from scratch yesterday. From scratch!

My kiddo has played in the snow, built a blanket fort with me, and made snow ice cream. We’ve watched at least 27 episodes of Mythbusters and Tom and Jerry together.

And writing? Well, I’ve edited eight chapters of my own book and sent them out for my critique group, 60 pages of my friend’s book, and several chapters from three people in my critique group. I’m on to the next four chapters for editing and I’ve managed to add around 16,000 words to the 50,000 words in the novel I started during NaNoWriMo.

How did I get all this accomplished, you ask? (Or, maybe you didn’t ask).

Regardless, I was able to get this all done because I am a teacher and while throughout most of the school year, I am a crazy, harried mess of anxiety with NO TIME, there are these wonderful little gems that occur in my life…

These little gems are snow days.

And this week, we’ve gotten four of them. Four. I haven’t been to work since last Friday. Frankly, I’ve forgotten at least half of the kids’ names at this point. I may have to have them wear name tags tomorrow.

That is, if we have school.

I guess if we don’t, I’ll pull the fridge out and mop under there, go sledding with my kiddo, and write another 5,000 or so words down.

Ah, if only they were all one day work weeks! ๐Ÿ™‚

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Process and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If Only They Were All One Day Work Weeks…

  1. Adria Waters says:

    Just got the notice that we have another snow day tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

