Oh yeah, I just wrote that. Sure did.

I am about 10,000 words into my NaNo piece this year and I just wrote the following:

Dr. Pantel stood up, adjusting his glasses as he did so. “Dean Washington, it seems that we are extending extraordinary measures of safety for this student. Is there any reason we should be concerned?”

“No, no, these are simply precautionary measures we must put in place for our student. Her father is in some sort of danger. The author of this story will research this and get back to us, but for now, we just have to accept the fact that the father is in some sort of danger which will translate to the daughter being in some sort of danger as well.”

Oh, yeah. I just wrote that. Sure did.

But, the point of this is that during NaNo, it is perfectly acceptable to write and go back to fill in the details later. The details are what always hang me up. I get distracted by wandering through the backstories of my characters and suddenly, I’m not writing anymore. I am caught up in the background of the story rather than telling the story itself.

That’s where NaNo comes in – it allows me to give myself permission to not have everything perfect during the initial draft. It allows for research to occur later as the need for it arises. It allows for writing to happen and the rest to come later. It allows me to keep moving forward!

In this particular scene, a girl is arriving at a prestigious prep school and the Dean is putting into place a lot of safety measures. I’m not sure why – I just know that in order for the rest of the story to happen, she has to be in danger. And, I will get to it. During editing.

Right now, I’m writing. Not always well (as evidenced above!), but I am writing! 🙂

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh yeah, I just wrote that. Sure did.

  1. Brianna Boes says:

    Love it! You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

