I’m Totally a Ghost Hunter!

IMG_8442

I’m totally a ghost hunter!

Last night, I had the opportunity to take part in something really cool – a paranormal investigation led by the stars of SyFy Channel’s Ghost Hunters and Haunted Collector at the Missouri State Penitentiary.

And, I did it all by myself.

I arrived at the event at 4:45 and talked to some ladies in line from a paranormal investigation team in Chicago. Pretty interesting. Then, they shuffled us in and we stood in line, waiting to get into A Hall to meet the team. I got to the doorway and caught a glimpse of the Ghost Hunters, and, I completely geeked out for a second! John Zaffis, from Haunted Collector was there. He shook my hand and we talked about Missouri weather for a minute. Then, I met Adam Berry and Amy Bruni from Ghost Hunters. They were so nice! So were Dave Tango and Steve Gonzalves. We moved over to the viewing area, and I met some really cool people who have an investigation group here in Columbia. I also met some people from Ozark and East STL – eclectic group! 🙂 After they got all the people in, we had a Q&A session with the stars. Funny stuff! Adam even belted out a Journey song for us – he has an amazing voice! Then, we split into groups to investigate.

Dave Tango and I

Dave Tango and I

Our first investigator was Dave Tango. He is one of my favorite TAPS members! He explained the building to us and also gave some insider tips on conducting investigations. I learned not to whisper on my recordings, but to speak softly. Whispering distorts your voice and makes it unrecognizable on playback. We investigated the top floors of A Hall and nothing too exciting happened, but it was cool to wander off by myself in the dark!

Steve Gonsalves

Steve Gonsalves

Then, Steve took our group and gave us some great information on using technical equipment in investigations. I learned that when using a laser grid, paranormal interactions will actually cause the lights to grow brighter, not darker or blocked out. We investigated the first floor and solitary confinement in this part. I got some interesting feelings in the “dungeon” and thought I saw a mist in front of my flashlight beam in one of the cells.

Amy Bruni

Amy Bruni

Amy took us on the next leg of our investigation through the old women’s cell block. We were given free reign of all five levels and I was upstairs on level 5 in the corner cell (not sure what number) and was sitting on the floor with the lights out. I had just given permission for a spirit to touch me, and I got what felt like a fingernail softly rubbing on my finger twice. When reviewing my video this morning, I caught a voice in the cell with me – my husband and I think it says the name “Angela.”

John Zaffis

John Zaffis

The next part of our night came in Building 4. John Zaffis was our investigator and we tried to make contact using a spirit box (FM tuner randomly scanning channels). We got some interesting feedback, but I didn’t feel much in this part of the prison. I have been here twice before, once for a tour, and another time for an overnight paranormal investigation, but have not been on these floors of the building before, so it was really neat to wander around the levels.

Amy and Adam

Amy and Adam

Adam was our last investigator and it was around 1 a.m. at this point. We were down in Death Row where an inmate died a horrific death. We tried to make contact with Walter through the flashlight method and were getting some good hits, but too random to be conclusive. While I was in a cell on my own, Adam walked by and whispered: “You’re my favorite – you’re by yourself!” I can die a happy girl 🙂

It was an amazing night. Quite an experience! 🙂

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

