Argh! Blasted Widget!

Tonight, I pounded out over 5,000 words in my Camp NaNo piece.

Admittedly, this course was taken because my friend logged in a higher total word count than me today and I am so ridiculously competitive that I had to exceed her count (sorry, Amanda!). But, another reason I wrote so much was because it is somehow one of the singular most wonderful moments in my life to watch a little bar graph increase as I log my words.

Seriously – it’s better than chocolate.

The widget I chose for my WordPress site works beautifully, showing how many words I have logged and the percentage of the 50,000 total I have done. HOWEVER (and this is a big one) the little blue bar graph is stuck at around ten percent.

Maddening. Frustrating. Disheartening. Ugh.

Any suggestions for a word count widget that works and will allow me to judge my success at writing by a little bar graph that actually moves with each new word count entry?

I will be forever grateful – and I may even provide you with some chocolate! 🙂

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Argh! Blasted Widget!

  1. Hadena James says:

    It says 32.5% Done when I look at it. And congrats to you and Amanda for your awesome wordiness this weekend!

    • Adria Waters says:

      Thank you! I see the percentage done, but it looks to me like the little bar should be further along. It looks like it’s stuck at around 10-15% or so. Ah, oh well. I’ll have to be happy with my count and percentages! :-). Good luck writing today – it’s always so exciting to start something new!

  2. I found out why my widget wasn’t updating. I have to go to the site and get a new code in order to get the line to move forward. Here are a bunch of counters: http://tiaross.com/progress-meters/

  3. Adria Waters says:

    Got a new widget – thanks for the information! I will have to bring chocolate the next time I see you, Amanda! 🙂

Leave a Reply

