Jumping into the Deep End

“There’s this really cool thing called National Novel Writing Month and you write 50,000 words in a month.”

“You mean one of those long, ninety-two day months, right?”

“Not exactly. I mean, November.”

“One of the shortest months?! What about Thanksgiving? Christmas shopping?”

“Yeah, you do all of that plus write a novel.”

She said it so calmly back in 2010. And, I believed her. I believed my friend when she told me that I could write a novel in thirty days.

And, you know, she was right!

I sat down on November 1st and started writing and finished on November 30 with 51,883 words. And, I had a novel. Who would have thought?

Now, I have no illusions that it is a good novel, or even readable in some parts, but it is a novel. A COMPLETE novel. And, that’s really cool for someone who had only been writing beginnings for the past ten years. The last time I completed a novel (86,570) was in 2000 and it took me several months to write. Then, I got stuck. I wrote beginning after beginning and would get thirty pages in and scrap each and every one of the pieces.

Why?

Because my inner editor wouldn’t stop telling me my ideas and writing sucked. They were terrible and shouldn’t see the light of day.

So what did I do different this time? I bound and gagged that inner editor and wrote so fast my fingers got numb from banging away on the keyboard. I wrote so fast that I couldn’t go back and read the previous day’s writing.

So, I’m gaining experience as a writer. I’m finding out what works for me and what doesn’t. I am planning and rewriting and working on things almost constantly now. I’m writing now and I have no idea where I’m going to end up with it, but the ride is sure a lot of fun!

I jumped into the deep end and I’m keeping my head above water.

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Experience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jumping into the Deep End

  1. Hadena James says:

    That’s the best way to do it!

Leave a Reply

