A plan! A plan! I have a plan!

IMG_20130529_095734

Looking back, I realize that it’s been around two months since my last post.  I realize this and I have a valid excuse – well, at least it’s a valid excuse in my own mind!

Simply put, I didn’t have a plan.

I was writing and sending my jumbled thoughts out into the infinite realm of the Internet without a purpose or a plan.   And, really, who wants to read that?  So, I have spent the last week coming up with a plan, complete with calendars and notes.  And, now I’m ready to write.

I’m committing myself to at least three weekly posts on the following subjects:

1) Experience.   I used to be fun.  Really!  I did!  I used to be spontaneous, adventurous, and funny.  In fact, my motto used to be “I’ll try anything once – and twice if I like it!”  But somewhere in the midst of getting married, buying a house, having a child, and beginning my career, I’ve become careful.  We carry insurance on everything.  We get regular dental checkups.  We do preventative home maintenance.  And, while being careful in and of itself is not a bad thing, the mundanity that comes with being careful has become the thing I want to eliminate from my life.  So, experience is the theme of this summer.  Instead of watching a nature show on TV, I want to go out and take a walk with my son.  Instead of reading about a trip to the mountains, I want to hop in the car and drive there.  Instead of being afraid to go to a concert by myself, I want to go and meet the band.  I want to go and do this summer so that I can draw from personal experiences in my writing.   I have the first inkling of a story about a boy and his father building a relationship over the course of a trip.  How can I write with authenticity if I’m sitting home on my couch?  So, yeah, experience.   I’ll be blogging about that.

2) Process.  I also have a plan (once again complete with calendar and notes) for my writing schedule for the next few months.  I am planning to edit the novel I wrote for 2011’s NaNo and share the first couple of chapters with the Columbia Novelist Group for their feedback during the month of June.  Then, in July I hope to complete some research and begin writing a new piece.   More editing in August, September, and October, and then a new piece in November for the official 2013 NaNo.  I keep waffling back and forth between self-publishing and traditional publishing routes, so I will be blogging about all of that indecision and strife.  Yeah, process.  I’ll be blogging about that, too.

3) Short stories and excerpts.  This one makes me the most nervous to blog about.  I plan to share some short stories and excerpts from my pieces on my blog.  During our last meeting, someone mentioned that she writes short stories based on the characters in her longer pieces.  This seems like a wonderful way to remain connected with my characters while I work on other things.  I can’t always get back to them as quickly as I would like, and this seems like a nice way to visit with them periodically.  It also gives me a means to continue to build their back stories (which, I’m completely invested in, but not sure the reader cares that the character prefers vanilla to hazelnut in his coffee because of a freak hazelnut accident that caused the death of his best friend when he was twelve…).  It will also give me an opportunity to put my writing out there, which, if you’ve ever written anything, can be the scariest part.  I write for myself.  Sharing it is hard.  So, yeah, short stories and excerpts.  I’m going to blog about those, too.

I have a plan.

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Experience, Process, Short Stories/Excerpts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A plan! A plan! I have a plan!

  1. Craig says:

    Short stories based on your novel’s characters is a really good idea.

  2. Breezy says:

    Good luck! I’m hoping that I’ll be able to keep up with blogging now that I have a little support from other writers. I totally get needing to have a plan! I hope you enjoy writing short stories based on your novel’s characters. For me, it has been a really great experience. In fact, the novel I’m working on now came out of a short story I was working on from another novel idea, to which this one will now be a prequel.

  3. Hadena James says:

    I am looking forward to the excerpts and snippets and short stories along with the mundane reality of the world in which you exist. There is nothing wrong with “mundanity” as long as it isn’t monotony.

    • Adria Waters says:

      Very true! I’m going for fun and adventurous, though! Today was a bit uninspiring – I ended up at WalMart and Home Depot. But, I’m getting ready to repaint and redecorate the kiddo’s room. So…that’s a change, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

