And the editing goes on…and on…

Not much to report in the last few days – which is why I haven’t posted in awhile. I’ve been editing my story and helping to critique my friend’s. We are almost finished – in fact, in 2 weeks, we’ll be done. And, once I fix the things in mine that need fixing, I will be one step closer to publishing. But, then I have to track down a “real-life” editor – and give the specifications to my cover artist – and find out exactly how to submit online – and decide on what company/venue to use – and…and…

I feel a panic attack coming on.

The people I know who are publishing make it look so easy to do what it is that they do.

Me? Well, I’m just a bundle of nerves and self-doubt.

I think if I just take things one step at a time, the entire process might seem a little less daunting. I hope…

One more point I’d like to ramble about (one of these days, I’ll plan this blog and actually stick to one topic rather than flitting all over the place like a tweaked out butterfly) is the critique of my first chapter. I sent it out to the critique group with plans to hear from them at the January meeting. But, Missouri weather saw fit to throw a wrench in that plan. So, it’s only snowed once this winter. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not complaining about that. What I am complaining about is that it decided to snow/sleet/ice on the night before our meeting, effectively shutting us down for the day. So, now I have to wait until February’s meeting to hear feedback. And, I think the anticipation just might kill me.

I have received a couple of email critiques and they have been very positive. The one thing I keep hearing is that my sentence structure is too long. I have trouble making 2 sentences when I can just make one everlasting looooooong sentence. I remember in college, I had a professor that made us write one sentence chapter summaries to turn in. One of mine was as follows:

“Good curriculum theories should provide validity, theoretical power, serviceability, and morality and are usually approached by theorists in one of three categories with overlaps common: the Prescriptive Theorists of the 1960s and 1970s like Bobbit, Tyler, and Dewey supported the Social-Needs-Child-Center approach which focused on society as the child’s first teacher, the Social Efficiency Approach which provided students with the tools to succeed in adulthood, the Social-Needs Reconstructionist approach which is designed to right the many wrongs of society through the role of the school, and the Philosophical-Academic Rationale which focused on individual knowledge rather than societal knowledge; the Descriptive Theorists of the late 1970s and 1980s like Schwab, Walker, and Reid lent their support to…”

I kid you not – it goes on like this for another nineteen lines. It is one sentence containing 341 words. I can fit a lot into a sentence. 🙂

But, I’m learning, that just because I can, I shouldn’t in my writing. It bogs the reader down and stops the flow of the story. I’m getting it – and I’m learning a lot through this editing process.

I’m learning, but I still think editing is wretched.

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And the editing goes on…and on…

  1. Hadena James says:

    We all thinking editing is wretched, but it is also wonderful!

    It is easy to publish, once you’ve done it. I had a full-blown panic attack my first time, now I get chills each time I publish. It still makes me nervous… It also induces a massive endorphin rush that gives me a natural high (the first time you check your sales page and find you’ve sold a copy, will do it too). And you will have all the help you need when you get to that point; hand-holding, encouraging words, tears of joy, etc…

Leave a Reply

