My Eyes are Falling Out and My Brain May Be Broken…

Last week, I edited seven chapters of my own book, seven chapters of my friend’s, and one chapter for another writer. This, in addition to planning a week’s worth of lessons, a murder mystery party for New Year’s, and getting sub plans ready… My eyes are falling out and my brain may be broken.

But, I love it.

I have thoroughly enjoyed hearing the feedback my friend has on my book. I had no idea how many times I used loooooong descriptive sentences to get my point across. I also had no idea how many times I describe something to death. Bad habits to add to a growing pile…

I have also turned my first chapter over to a writing group to which I belong for their critique. We meet next Sunday. I’m not sure if I can stand the suspense. My biggest fear? They’ll all look up at me and call me out for the fraud I sometimes feel I am. “Get out of here!” they’ll cry, pointing at the door. “Honestly – did she think she was a REAL writer?”

Okay, so maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but I can’t help feeling nervous, excited, and a little like I might throw up.

But again, I love it. Writing has become more than a hobby in the last couple of years. It’s become something I think about all the time. I’m constantly on the prowl for things to add to my next story. At the gas station the other morning, I watched a teenage girl crawl out of the passenger side window of a beat up Chevy Malibu while her mom waited behind the wheel. The girl saw me looking and threw her chin up defiantly – almost daring me to say something before walking into the gas station. My immediate thought was: “I HAVE to use her in one of my stories!”

Okay – time to end this rambling entry! I started out with some succinct thoughts – really! Ugh – poor broken brain!

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Eyes are Falling Out and My Brain May Be Broken…

  1. Jacki says:

    I love that you are SO passionate about this and I know it will turn out amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

