Seven lefts do not make a right… (dot, dot, dot)

Tonight, I turned over my first seven chapters to my friend for her critique. The second chapter has a LOT of description, and most of it is of the house where the main character will be spending his summer. That being said, I included all of the right turns, left turns, doors to the right, hallways to the left, a shed leaning to the right, and a bow on the left side of a head.

How on earth can I look over a chapter again and again and miss that stuff? Ugh.

One passage she made me promise to take out:

He went up three triangle stairs that turned him parallel with the hallway that ran from the front door to the kitchen and then they turned him once more so that he was looking down a hallway that ran the length of the house.

Yikes! I can feel the eye twitch beginning…

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven lefts do not make a right… (dot, dot, dot)

  1. Liz Schulte says:

    Ah, the joy of editing. I feel like that all the time

  2. rosylinn says:

    You were just being thorough…and trying to make my eye twitch…

Leave a Reply

