Biggest. Compliment. Ever.

A couple of weeks ago, I asked a ridiculously artistic friend of mine if she would be interested in designing the cover for my book that I am planning to self-publish in 2013 (that is, if all the planets align and I get over my huge fear of putting my work out there for people to – eek! – actually read). She said she would be happy to and so, last night, as the kids were playing upstairs and the husbands were talking in the living room and “watching” said kids, she and I snuck out to her garage to sketch out some ideas.

I gave her a very rudimentary idea of the main components I wanted in my cover.
“Do you want me to tell you more about the story?”
“Yes.”
What followed was fifteen minutes of me telling her all about the book. The characters, the twists, the turns, the plot nuances – and for the first time, I actually felt like a writer! I think it was because I was talking about my book like I would talk about any other book I’d read.

Anyhow, I talked – she sketched. And, when she showed me what she came up with, I almost fell off my chair! It was absolutely perfect!

She said she would like to read it so that she could add more details to her drawing and so, when I came home last night, I sent her an email with my manuscript attached and the warning that it has not yet been through a full edit.

Tonight, about an hour ago, I got a text from her:
“Your book is the kid’s bedtime story tonight. She’s enthralled. Paused at Chapter 3.”

A real kid. A real reader. And…she likes it!

Biggest. Compliment. Ever.

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Biggest. Compliment. Ever.

  1. It’s a great feeling, telling peoplewhat your story is about. The enthusiasm begins to boil inside and it’s hard sometimes to throttle it back and not gush about your baby…

  2. rosylinn says:

    I can’t wait to see the cover ideas!

  3. Hadena James says:

    Having a “fan” really is the best compliment ever…

Leave a Reply

