Ouch! Editing hurts!

I hate the process of editing.

I hate going back through something I’ve written and pushing that delete button over and over again. I know it’s a necessary evil when writing, but it seems so cruel. I mean, what did those words do to deserve that?

Some of the things I’m deleting from the first chapter of my last work:

1) The entire first two pages after I introduce the main character in which I actually use a flashback to breakfast with his mother to set up the back-story. Bah! It’s gone!

2) The description of the shopkeeper’s laughter as “maniacal.” Let’s be honest – how often have you heard someone laugh that way?

3) The color of each character’s eyes. I don’t know why it is so darn important to me that the reader know specifically what shade a character’s eyes are. Denim blue…stormy gray… Who writes this stuff?

I will forge ahead into the second chapter tonight, mercilessly hacking away with my delete button. Bad writing — Beware!

About Adria Waters

I am a mom, wife, teacher, and a writer. Somehow I'm trying to find time for all of those things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ouch! Editing hurts!

  1. Hadena James says:

    Reblogged this on hadenajames and commented:
    Agreed!

  2. Aliqua says:

    I suppose when you have to delete something – yeah, it hurts. I actually really like editing, though. I re-read my unpublished works aloud, as if I’m doing a book reading (which is not for my YouTube channel.) Whatever doesn’t sound right or I notice a mistake, I fix right away. The editing process is like making a pumpkin pie recipe even better. Mmm, pumpkin pie; now I’m hungry. Lol.

  3. Adria
    DON’T DELETE!!!
    If you find a passage that you have fallen out of love with, or if you think it no longer fits the (evolved) story, cut and paste it into a recycling area (a separate document). In days to come you may find that these displaced passages inspire you to write something around them – you might create a short story or even a series of novels from just one, lonely sentence that had imagined itself to be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

